GW Lacrosse Picked Fifth in Atlantic 10 Preseason Poll

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

Atlantic 10 Lacrosse Preseason Poll | 2013 Schedule | @GWLacrosse

After reaching the conference championship in 2012 for the first time in three seasons, the George Washington lacrosse team was predicted to finish fifth in the Atlantic 10 preseason poll as voted on by the league's eight head coaches on Friday.

Four-time reigning conference champion No. 14 Massachusetts - which GW fell to in last year's semifinal round - was selected to repeat as champion in the annual poll. Richmond, the 2012 championship runner-up, was predicted to finish second, followed by Duquesne in third. Temple was chosen fourth, followed by the Colonials in fifth. Rounding out the poll were La Salle in sixth, Saint Joseph's in seventh and St. Bonaventure in eighth.

Under the direction of sixth-year head coach Tara Hannaford, GW returns 15 players from the 2012 squad that produced a 10-7 overall record - marking the most wins in a season since 2007 - and a 4-3 record in the Atlantic 10. The Colonials also welcome eight newcomers to the squad as they look to return to the A-10 Championship.

Entering its 11
th year of competition, GW has made an appearance in the league championship in 2005, 2007, 2009 and 2012. The 15th annual Atlantic 10 Championship will be held from April 26-28 in Amherst, Mass., at the Minutewomen's Warren P. McGurik Alumni Stadium. The A-10 championship is a single-elimination, four-team event, with the first-round winners advancing to the championship game. The winner of the Championship will receive the league's automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament.

The Buff and Blue open their 2013 campaign at cross-town foe Howard on Wednesday, Feb. 13 at 6 p.m.

2013 Atlantic 10 Lacrosse Predicted Order of Finish

Team                                     2012 Record (A-10)
1. Massachusetts                    19-2 (7-0)
2. Richmond                            10-8 (5-2)
3. Duquesne                            12-6 (5-2)
4. Temple                                 9-8 (3-4)
5. George Washington           10-7 (4-3)
6. La Salle                              10-6 (3-4)
7. Saint Joseph's                      5-11 (1-6)
8. St. Bonaventure                    3-9 (0-7)

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment