@GW_WaterPolo Alumni Reunite in St. Louis

| No Comments | No TrackBacks

A group of George Washington men's water polo alumni reunited last weekend for the 46th Annual Clayton Men's Senior Open, a water polo tournament in Clayton, Mo.

Patrick Dodge ('04) - the Colonials' all-time leader in ejections drawn and four-time team MVP - organized the team, which consisted of 10 alumni, most with ties to the St. Louis area.

"GW used to participate in this tournament years ago, and we decided it would be a good opportunity to get together," Dodge said. "This is the second straight year we've entered a team as GW alumni."

Joining Dodge were Daniel Batten ('98), Josh Gimpleson ('02), 2004 MVP Nick Koenemann ('05), Doug Maitz ('00), Carlos Nossa ('98), Brad Oliver ('01), all-time goals-against average and save percentage leader Tony Paster ('00), Bo Stewart ('96) and 2007 honorable mention All-American David Zenk ('09), as well as 15th-year head coach Scott Reed.

"It was great that Coach Reed made the trip," Dodge said. "It will help create a strong connection between the current and former team."

"This was a great opportunity to bring our alumni together to share each other's experiences from when they played, have some fun competing and get to know GW's vision for the future," said Coach Reed. "This should be a great annual tradition for years to come."

The Colonials' alumni placed fourth out of 12 teams in the tournament "with commitments to be in better shape for next year," said Dodge, adding that Zenk and Nossa were the weekend's leading scorers.

"This is the first time this group played together, but we are looking forward to connecting again at Alumni Weekend and building a bigger team for next year with even greater inclusion of younger and older alumni," Dodge said.

GW Alumni Weekend 2013 will take place Sept. 26-29, and men's water polo hosts CWPA Southern Division rival Johns Hopkins on Saturday, Sept. 28, at 7 p.m. at the Charles E. Smith Center Pool.

MWP Alumni.JPG
Left to Right: Doug Maitz, Daniel Batten, Brad Oliver, Tony Paster, Patrick Dodge, Nick Koenemann, Josph Gimpelson, Carlos Nossa, Scott Reed

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL:

Leave a comment