Athletics News

GW Athletics Celebrates Outstanding Academics in Dean's List Ceremony

Dr. Christopher Cahill, accompanied by GW gymnastics junior Taylor Redmond, was voted as the student-athletes' choice as 2014 Professor of the Year.
Feb. 25, 2015


Athletics Department Dean's List Honorees 2014 Get Acrobat Reader
Photo Gallery

WASHINGTON - During halftime of the men's basketball game against St. Bonaventure on Wednesday night, GW's Athletic Academic Dean's List members and the student athletes' choice for Professor of the Year were honored.

In order to be recognized on the Dean's List, student-athletes had to achieve a 3.0 grade-point average or higher in either the spring 2014 or fall 2014 semesters. In the spring of 2014, more than 70 percent of GW student-athletes hit the mark with 303 achieving Dean's List status, while 294 student-athletes were honored for the most recent fall semester.

Among the more than 350 student-athletes honored, 14 achieved a perfect 4.0 GPA in either the spring or the fall semester. Jonny Forrest (men's soccer), Egle Jakuciunaite (women's tennis), John Kopriva (men's basketball), Rachel Quinn (lacrosse), Lana Robins (women's tennis), Julius Tverijonas (men's tennis) and Danil Zelenkov (men's tennis) notched 4.0 GPAs last spring, while Taylor Brimberg (sailing), Janica Lee (women's swimming), Jen Nichols (women's rowing), Hannah Rowe (women's track), Jenn Seitz (lacrosse), Lauren Steagall (women's swimming) and Ellee Watson (men's rowing) achieved perfect 4.0 GPAs last semester.

"Honoring our extraordinary percentage of student-athletes who have achieved Dean's List status is personally one of the most important initiatives we do every year," said Director of Athletics and Recreation Patrick Nero. "They are emblematic of the culture we are building here, in which academic success is paramount in what we're striving to be every day."

Prior to the Dean's List recognitions, the student-athletes' choice for the Professor of the Year was recognized. Each year, student-athletes are asked to submit nominations for their most valued professor, who makes the greatest contribution to the academic success of GW's student-athletes. Once nominations are submitted, GW student-athletes then vote upon five finalists and the student-athletes' choice for Professor of the Year.

Dr. Christopher Cahill of the Chemistry Department was named as the student-athletes' choice. Dr. Cahill is an expert in solid-state and materials chemistry with a particular emphasis on X-ray crystallography, and his teaching interests include developing technical literacy for non-technical individuals within the nuclear policy community.