Athletics News

94 Student-Athletes Among Over 6,000 GW Graduates in 2014

May 18, 2014

The social media hashtag #OnlyAtGW has taken on a meaning all its own at the George Washington University, but one annual moment is truly an #OnlyAtGW tradition - Commencement on the National Mall.

While several student-athletes couldn't attend the Sunday ceremony due to competition and were honored by university President Steven Knapp and Provost Steve Lerman in a special commencement on Tuesday, their classmates soaked up the setting between the Washington Monument and U.S. Capitol on May 18.

With world-renowned chef and humanitarian José Andrés as keynote speaker, GW student-athletes celebrated with their peers as their degrees were conferred upon them.

Previously, on Saturday, May 17, the GW Athletics Class of 2014 was recognized at the Senior Honors Breakfast, joined by their friends and families to remark upon an unforgettable GW experience.

At the breakfast, women's swimming's Caroline Myers and men's tennis' Nikita Fomin were crowned as the Lynn George Outstanding Senior Female Student-Athlete and J. Dallas Shirley Outstanding Senior Male Student-Athlete, respectively. Myers appears on GW's all-time top 10 times list in six individual events and won five career medals at the A-10 Championships, including gold in the 1,650-yard freestyle in the final race of her career this past February, while Fomin repeated as First Team All-Atlantic 10 in 2013 and 2014 while leading the Colonials to the 2014 A-10 title, and earned GW's first-ever NCAA Championship point last week.

Lacrosse's Terasa Vassallo, with a 3.91 cumulative grade-point average in civil engineering and a GW Outstanding Academic Achievement Award recipient for being in the top two percent of seniors in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, was honored with the Senior Female Scholar-Athlete award. On the men's side, tennis' Ulrik Thomsen claimed the honors after achieving a 3.93 GPA in international affairs and also earning an Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in the Elliott School of International Affairs.

Commencement on the Mall is an #OnlyAtGW moment indeed, but these 94 student-athletes join their fellow classmates as they collectively seek to #RaiseHigh wherever their lives and careers take them in the coming years.

GW Athletics Class of 2014:
Baseball: Owen Beightol, Taylor Lambke, Craig Lejeune, Colin Milon, Luke Staub, Aaron Weisberg
Men's Basketball: Isaiah Armwood, Maurice Creek, Nemanja Mikic
Women's Basketball: Danni Jackson, Megan Nipe, Brooke Wilson
Men's Cross Country: Marco Siragusa, James Stern
Women's Cross Country: Kelly Bartz, Angela Ryck
Golf: Benton Kircher, Graham Lawyer
Gymnastics: Kayla Carto, Brittany Doran, Sara Halliburton, Taylor Henderson, Kiera Kenney, Tara Rosenberg, Betsy Zander
Lacrosse: Jordy Bathras, Lindsey DiAntonio, Madison Pohle, Terasa Vassallo
Men's Rowing: Trofym Anderson, Kasey Colander, Matt Grieshaber, James Stafford
Women's Rowing: Sam Bachert, Megan Culberson, Hayley Dannehower, Bethany Grim, Sarah Pickus, Julia Randle, Gephen Sadove, Madison Townley
Sailing: Kaitlin Denney, Eli Mattson, Erin McCormack, Sarah McCormack
Men's Soccer: Andri Alexandersson, Bailey Hinners, Tyler Ranalli, Alex Sandland, Abdul Shaban, Francisco Solorzano
Women's Soccer: Claire Haft, Melanie Keer, Alex Neal, Nicole Ulrick, Jane Wallis
Softball: Chelsea Curcio, Alexandra Del Prete, Courtney Martin
Men's Squash: Chris Bell
Women's Squash: Kelly Barnes, Adriana Calderon, Catherine Ehrlich, Becca Imrich, Maya Nair, Jackie Shea, Elizabeth Tapley
Men's Swimming: Jake Mortensen, Spencer Neff
Women's Swimming: Taylor Cole, Melissa Fernandez, Rachael Johnston, Lindsay Moore, Caroline Myers, Remy Neville, Sloan Saunders, Sydney Saunders
Men's Tennis: Nikita Fomin, Viktor Svensson, Ulrik Thomsen
Women's Tennis: Isabella Escobar, Leah Pascarella
Volleyball: Jamie Armstrong, Jessica Burr, Rachael Goss
Men's Water Polo: Paul Deasey, Nate Little, Adam Streeter, Daniel Tyner
Women's Water Polo: Rachael Bentley, Katherine Berry, Megan Brolley, Erin Dickson, Allison Littlejohn