Athletics News

GW Alumni Pops Mensah-Bonsu and Lasan Kromah Compete for $1 Million Prize

Mensah-Bonsu led GW's NCAA Tournament teams in 2005 and 2006.
July 28, 2015

Competing for a team named "City of Gods," former GW men's basketball players Pops Mensah-Bonsu and Lasan Kromah have advanced to this weekend's semi-finals of The Basketball Tournament (TBT), a single-elimination, five-on-five, winner-take-all, open-application tournament with a $1 million prize.

Semi-final action commences at 3 p.m. on Saturday live on ESPN from Fordham University's historic Rose Hill Gym. City of Gods is coached by former Washington Wizards Assistant Coach Joe Connelly, who had high praise for both former Colonials.

"Pops is a true warrior in every sense of the word," said Connelly. "He has anchored the team as a leader on and off the court. Last game against Syracuse, he went into beast mode and was the most dominant player on the court."

On Kromah, Connelly notes, "we added him late as insurance and knew he would be great because of the type of person he is. Has been such a great team player and has given me some great insight from the bench even when he's not in the game. He is headed to the top division Turkey this season as he continues to climb the professional ladder."

Joining Mensah-Bonsu and Kromah on City of Gods are former NBA players Michael Sweetney and Dermarr Johnson, amongst a slew of other players who competed at the highest ranks of basketball around the world. City of Gods will meet Overseas Elite in TBT Semis, with Mark Jones, Fran Fraschilla and Jeff Goodman scheduled to be on the call for ESPN. Overseas Elite features NCAA all-time three-point leader Travis Bader (Oakland), along with Myck Kabongo (Texas) and DJ Kennedy (St. John's) among several other players who compete professionally overseas.

The original TBT 97-team field included more than 125 players who have played in either the NBA or the NBA D-League, and over 500 with professional experience. 317 teams applied to make the 97-team field, with each team consisting of a General Manager, at least seven players, and 100+ fan votes to be eligible to compete.