Athletics News

Vote Elana Meyers Taylor for Sportswoman of the Year

Elana Meyers Taylor
Aug. 21, 2015 NEW YORK - Former George Washington softball standout and two-time Olympic bobsled medalist Elana Meyers Taylor has been nominated along with teammate Cherrelle Garrett for the Women's Sports Foundation's Sportswoman of the Year Team Sport Award. Fan voting is open until midnight on Aug. 31 and will help determine the 2015 winners.

The Sportswoman of the Year Award has honored both individual and team sport athletes since 1993. Winners are decided by a 50-50 combination of public and Awards Committee votes and will be crowned at the Women's Sports Foundation's 36th Annual Salute to Women in Sports gala on Oct. 20 in New York.

An inaugural member of the GW softball program, Meyers Taylor ('07) graduated as the top Colonial in nearly every offensive category and was inducted into the GW Athletic Hall of Fame in 2014.

Meyers Taylor and Garrett received a 2015 nomination after earning a No. 1 world ranking for the Bobsleigh 2-Women for the Federation Internationale de Bobsleigh et de Tobogganing (FIBT) during the 2014-15 season. In 2015, the duo became the first Americans to win a FIBT World Championship title and posted six first-place finishes in World Cup competition and a pair of top finishes at the 2014 North American Cup. Meyers Taylor received her fourth USA Bobsled and Skeleton Women's Bobsled Athlete of the Year award in 2015, while the pair took home the organization's Team of the Year nod.

Fans can vote for Elana Meyers Taylor and Cherrelle Garrett here.