Athletics News

Inaugural GW Athletics National Advisory Council Welcomed to Campus

Alumna Michelle Rubin ('91) is co-chair of the inaugural GW Athletics National Advisory Council, which will convene for the first time this weekend.

Sept. 27, 2012


WASHINGTON - The inaugural George Washington Athletics National Advisory Council, a group which will provide volunteer and philanthropic leadership to GW's Department of Athletics and Recreation, will convene Thursday night for a tip-off celebratory dinner in Foggy Bottom.

Co-chaired by alumnus, trustee and President of the New York Yankees Randy Levine ('77) and alumna Michelle Rubin ('91), the council will serve to offer fundraising and outreach to the broader GW Athletics community while sharing insight and guidance with GW Athletics and Recreation senior leadership and the office of Athletics Development.

George Washington University Chairman of the Board of Trustees Russ Ramsey ('81) will serve as Thursday's Keynote Speaker before the council embarks on a packed schedule of meetings and activities on Friday. Included in the schedule of events is a meet-and-greet with GW student-athletes, coaches and staff over breakfast; welcoming and appreciation remarks from Director of Athletics and Recreation Patrick Nero; tours of GW's athletics facilities, including the newly renovated Barcroft Baseball Park; panel discussions on what it takes to build champions in competition, in the classroom and in the community; as well as first-ever meetings of three subcommittees focused on fundraising, mentoring and engagement.

The Council, comprised of a cross-section of GW Athletics and Recreation stakeholders with an emphasis on diversity across age, gender, ethnicity, geographic region, profession/industry and sport (with regards to former student-athletes), includes Aquil Abdullah, Andrew Arno, Debbie Briggs, Jennifer Calvery, Michael Cerretani, Frank Cerullo, Lori Chaitman, Gil Cisneros, Annemargaret Connolly, Lisa De Bow, Jimmie Dresnick, Lauren Edwards, trustee Allan From, Michael Gettlin, Kathie Gillespie, Brandon Hammond, Lisa Harwood, Chris Hawthorne, Kristie Helfrich, Patrick Holley, Steve Kelin, trustee and co-chair Randy Levine, Rich Marmaro, Chuck Merin, Chris Monroe, Brandon Muir, Lisa Neirotti, Eddie Newland, Will Ricketson, Jeremy Rohen, Sean Rose, co-chair Michelle Rubin, Sandy Schwartz, Gloria Sesana, Carlos Solorzano, Ashley Starks, Victoria Tigwell, Stefan Triandafilou and David Wilson.

The leadership provided by GWANAC members will come in a variety of forms, including, but not limited to: making a personal philanthropic investment toward the priorities of the department, serving as an ambassador and advocate for GW Athletics, asking others to join in the effort, hosting special engagement events and attending important athletic and university functions.