The George Washington University: On Campus

The Nelson and Michele Carbonell Academic Center


About
| Academic Resources | Awards | Tutoring | Career Development
Community Service | Leadership Academy | Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC)


The Carbonell Center is home to The George Washington Athletics Educational Support Services and Life Skills Program. Established in 1983, the Educational Support Services Program was initially designed to provide support services to a small group of students. The program has expanded to include services for all student-athletes, with an emphasis on individual responsibility and pride in academic accomplishments. The Department of Athletics and Recreation employs five full-time staff members and 30-40 tutors to assist over 450 student-athletes. Through the support of the faculty and administration, the mandate of the Department of Athletics and Recreation, and the dedication of the student-athletes, the department claims a high graduation rate for all of its sports.

The GW Athletics Life Skills Program, as part of educational support services, focuses on creating a well-rounded student-athlete engaged as a leader in the GW community and beyond. Programming consists of community service, career services and leadership opportunities on and off campus for student-athletes.


Staff:

Name Position Telephone
(Area Code: 202)
Email Sport Responsibilities
Danya Ellman Assistant Athletic Director for Educational Support Services 994-2495 dellman@gwu.edu Baseball, Women's Basketball, Gymnastics
Ellen Carter Woodbridge Learning Specialist 994-6561 ecarter@gwu.edu Golf, Women's Rowing, Men's Tennis, Women's Tennis
Courtney Hoffmann Academic Support Assistant 994-6585 choffmann@gwu.edu Softball, Women's Soccer, Men's & Women's Water Polo
Brittany Henderson Academic Support Assistant 994-8791 hendersonb@gwu.edu Men's Basketball, Lacrosse, Men's & Women's Cross Country/Track
Shelby McKay Academic Support Assistant 994-9079 smckay2@gwu.edu Men's & Women's Swimming & Diving, Sailing, Volleyball
Madison Townley Student-Athlete Development Assistant 994-2699 mtownley@gwu.edu Men's & Women's Squash
Arayael Brandner Graduate Assistant 994-4111 abrandner@gwmail.gwu.edu Men's Rowing, Men's Soccer
On Campus Home

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article

The George Washington University Nike Atlantic 10 NCAA NCAA