GW Swimming and Diving Finish Up at A-10 Meet

Feb. 20, 2005


BUFFALO, N.Y. - For the fourth straight year, the Atlantic 10 crowned the University of Massachusetts men and the University of Richmond women champions at the 2005 A-10 Swimming and Diving Championships at the Flickinger Aquatic Center.

The George Washington University men wrapped the conference meet in fourth place and the women took third.

On the fourth and final day of the meet Saturday, hosted by St. Bonaventure, GW swimmers sophomore Sean Flaherty (Scarborough, ME/Scarborough) (15:54.89) and senior Bryan Ferretti (Newtown, PA/Council Rock) (15:55.60) finished second and third, respectively, in the 1650-yd freestyle event.

Sophomore Jon Sabin (Fairfield, CT/Fairfield) also recorded a third place finish, recording a time of 1:51.53 in the 200-yd backstroke.

For the women, junior Maggie Moss (Indianapolis, IN) grabbed a second place finish in the 200-yd backstroke, posting a time of 2:03.19.

UMass won the meet with 804 total points to set a conference record for the most consecutive championships. St. Bonaventure finished in second place (652.5), La Salle in third (473), George Washington in fourth (384), followed by Fordham in fifth (354), Xavier in sixth (306), Duquesne in seventh (270), and Rhode Island in eighth (248.5).

On the women's side, Richmond repeated as league champions with 921 points. St. Bonaventure finished the competition in second place (534), George Washington in third (427), the University of Massachusetts in fourth (363), followed by Xavier in fifth (350), Fordham in sixth (326), Duquesne in seventh (318), Rhode Island in eighth (221), and La Salle in ninth (132).




More Headlines