GW Baseball Hosts Towson on Wednesday in Jackie Robinson Game

Freshman Max Kaplow has been named the 2013 Jackie Robinson Award recipient.

April 15, 2013

Tickets | Gametracker | | @GWBaseball1

WASHINGTON - The George Washington baseball team returns to action on Wednesday afternoon as the Colonials welcome Towson to Barcroft Park for the Jackie Robinson Game at 3:00 p.m.

The game is being played to commemorate the anniversary of Jackie Robinson breaking Major League Baseball's long-standing color barrier when he played his first game as a Brooklyn Dodger on April 15, 1947.

Freshman Max Kaplow will be awarded the Jackie Robinson Award prior the game. The award, which is given out by the George Washington Jackie Robinson Society, is annually given to the GW player that best reflects the attributes of the legendary sports hero.

Past winners include Travis Crowder, Tom Shanley, Michael Parker, Joe Michalski, Dan Pfau, Derek Haese, Brian Frazier, Gavin Swanson, Bobby Lucas, Jr., Tommy Gately and Stephen Oswald.



Founded in 1999, the Jackie Robinson Society sponsors discussions about Robinson and its members participate in community service projects associating his name and life's work with good deeds. GW students were inspired to form the society after taking a course titled "Jackie Robinson: Race, Sports and the American Dream."

The class, which is offered by Professor Richard Zamoff of GW's Department of Sociology, explores the impact of Jackie Robinson's entry into the game of baseball, the major leagues, and to American society.

Each spring, for the past 16 years, Dr. Zamoff has organized Jackie Robinson Week. Jackie Robinson Week has included commemorative programs, panel discussions, museum exhibits, and other events designed to preserve and promote the Jackie Robinson legacy and to illustrate the historical and current relationship between race and sports in America.

The George Washington University Jackie Robinson Society Community Recognition Awards are presented each year to acknowledge citizens whose accomplishments reflect Jackie Robinson's tradition and have made outstanding contributions to the District of Columbia and the nation.

In addition to the Jackie Robinson Award, the society awards the Jackie Robinson Society Community Recognition Award. Past winners include Arthur L. Silber, Wilfa Bonner, Frank Robinson, Bobby Mitchell, JC Hayward, Joan Hodges, Maureen Bunyan, Franklin Kameny and Michael Wilbon.

Towson defeated GW, 9-5, on March 12 in Maryland, despite the Colonials racing out to 5-0 lead to open the game.

More Headlines