The George Washington University: Men's Basketball

National TV Exposure Highlights GW Men's Basketball's A-10 Slate


 
 

Sep 5, 2013

2013-14 GW MBB Schedule: HTML | PDF Get Acrobat Reader | Get Your Season Tickets Today!

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - George Washington men's basketball will play half of its 16 conference games on national television in 2014 during the first season of the Atlantic 10 Conference's new eight-year media and television rights partnership.

Seven of GW's league games will air on NBCSN (NBC Sports Network) with distribution in nearly 78 million U.S. households, and another will air on the CBS Sports Network, which boasts over 48 million subscribers:
Thursday, Jan. 9 at La Salle - 8 p.m. (NBCSN)
Saturday, Jan. 11 vs. Rhode Island - 2:30 p.m. (NBCSN)
Tuesday, Jan. 14 vs. VCU - 7 p.m. (CBSSN)
Saturday, Jan. 25 at George Mason - 12 p.m. (NBCSN)
Saturday, Feb. 1 at Dayton - 12:30 p.m. (NBCSN)
Wednesday, Feb. 12 at VCU - 7 p.m. (NBCSN)
Tuesday, Feb. 18 at Richmond - 7 p.m. (NBCSN)
Sunday, March 2 vs. George Mason - 2 p.m. (NBCSN)
(All times Eastern)

"We're really excited and anxious to showcase this GW team to our fans, alumni and recruits across the country," said Head Coach Mike Lonergan. "Isaiah Armwood and Maurice Creek are hungry to end their careers as winners and lead this team to compete for an Atlantic 10 title. Whether it's in the stands at the Charles E. Smith Center or tuning in on national television, it's going to be a great season to watch GW men's basketball."

The A-10 television package raises the current number of GW men's basketball regular season broadcasts in 2013-14 to 11 including the three games of the Wooden Legacy across the ESPN networks (ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU or ESPN3). Additional televised games, game times and video streaming information will be announced at a later date.

"It's an exciting day to be a fan of GW men's basketball, but also a proud day to be a member of the Atlantic 10 Conference," said Director of Athletics Patrick Nero. "This television package not only helps accomplish our goal of showcasing the university, GW Athletics and our rising men's basketball program to the nation, but is also a great stride in enhancing the profile of the Atlantic 10 within intercollegiate athletics."

Dates and several times were also set for the remainder of the Colonials' league slate:
Saturday, Jan. 18 at St. Bonaventure - TBA
Wednesday, Jan. 29 vs. La Salle - TBA
Wednesday, Feb. 5 vs. Duquesne - TBA
Saturday, Feb. 8 vs. Fordham - TBA
Saturday, Feb. 15 vs. Massachusetts - TBA
Saturday, Feb. 22 at Saint Louis - TBA
Wednesday, March 5 vs. Saint Joseph's - TBA
Saturday, March 8 at Fordham - TBA

GW Athletics posted its highest season-ticket sales totals for the month of August in the past five years. Don't miss out on joining GW men's basketball for its 100th season of competition in 2013-14 by becoming a season ticket holder today.


 

 

Men's Basketball Home

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article

The George Washington University Nike Atlantic 10 NCAA NCAA