GW Golf At A-10 Championship Friday-Sunday

April 29, 2010

Live Stats

HOWEY-IN-THE-HILLS, FL -- The George Washington Golf team will compete in the 32nd annual Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Golf Championship this weekend, April 30-May 2, at the par-72, 7,003-yard El Campeon course at the Mission Inn Resort near Orlando. The Colonials placed eighth at the 2009 Atlantic 10 Championship with a team total 937 (314-318-305), 65 strokes behind tournament champion Charlotte (872).

The Championship tees off on Friday, April 30, with Charlotte vying to become the first A-10 program to win five consecutive golf titles since Penn State won five straight crowns from 1986-91. Joining the Colonials and Charlotte in the quest for the 2010 A-10 title are Dayton, Duquesne, Fordham, La Salle, Rhode Island, Richmond, Saint Joseph's, St. Bonaventure, Temple and Xavier. Tee times for all three rounds of the Championship begin at 8:00 a.m.

GW is led by senior Cole Turner's 75.2 stroke average this season. Junior Brendan Barrack (75.3) and sophomore Martin Liu (76.0) also figure to score well for the Colonials in Florida.

Home of the 1998 & 2000 NCAA Men's Golf Championship, Mission Inn Resort has been ranked among the "top 10 of Florida's favorite golf courses" by Florida Golf News; received the "Four-Star Award" by Golf Digest; and was recognized as one of the nation's "top 100 golf courses" by Links Magazine.

For complete coverage of the 2010 Atlantic 10 Men's Golf Championship, including live scoring, log on to

Past A-10 Golf Champions*
Year School
2009 Charlotte
2008 Charlotte
2007 Charlotte
2006 Charlotte
2005 Xavier
2004 Rhode Island
2003 Xavier
2002 Rhode Island
2001 Xavier
2000 Rhode Island
1999 Rhode Island
1998 Xavier
1997 Virginia Tech
1996 Virginia Tech
1995 Temple
1994 Rhode Island
1993 Temple
1992 Temple
1991 Penn State
1990 Penn State
1988 Penn State
1987 Penn State
1986 Penn State
1985 Temple
1984 Temple
1983 Penn State
1982 Temple
1981 Rutgers
1980 Rhode Island
1979 Rutgers
1978 Rutgers



*Championship held in the fall from 1978-88; moved to the spring beginning with the 1990 Championship

More Headlines