Men's Rowing Wins Three Races on Final Day of GW Invitational

The Colonials' Varsity 8 won two races on Saturday afternoon at the George Washington Invitational on the Potomac River.

April 7, 2012

Official Results

WASHINGTON - The George Washington men's rowing won three races, including a Varsity 8 victory over Holy Cross to claim the Sullivan Cup, on the final day of the George Washington Invitational on the Potomac River on Saturday afternoon.

The United States Naval Academy won the Oliver T. Carr Bowl with 114 points. The Midshipmen were followed by UC San Diego (87 points), Cornell (78), GW (76), Georgetown (69) and Holy Cross (48).

The Colonials' Varsity 8 crew enjoyed success on Saturday, winning both of its races against perennial powers.

In the morning session, GW navigated the 2,000 meter course in 5:39.80, about nine seconds ahead of UC San Diego (5:49.40). The momentum carried over to the afternoon session as the Colonials topped Holy Cross in a much tighter race. GW crossed the finish line in 5:39.80, about four seconds ahead of the Crusaders (5:43.00). With the win over Holy Cross, the Colonials regained the Sullivan Cup after losing it last season.

"It was a really great two days of racing for us across the board," said Head Coach Mark Davis. "I thought all the crews got better with each event and nobody had a bad race."

The Colonials Freshman 8 also enjoyed success on Saturday, winning its first dual of the season by four seconds over Holy Cross. GW finished in 6:02.50, followed by Holy Cross in 6:06.50.

"Overall it was a good weekend for us and I am excited about it," said Coach Davis. "But we need to get back to work on Monday and get faster so we make sure we peak at the right time. We are happy with our results, but definitely not satisfied."

The Colonials return to action on April 21-22 at the Southern Intercollegiate Rowing Association (SIRA) Championships on Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Varsity 8
Coxswain: Katherin Suarez-Quijano
Anthony Paladino
James Kelly
Taylor Lindman
Sam Goldberg
Colin York
Kasey Colander
James Stafford
Trofym Anderson

Second Varsity 8
Coxswain: William Parsons
Eric Anderson
Eric Herrera
Dylan Wong
Liam Cusack
Kyle Miller
Sean Fago
Cameron Chen

Freshman 8
Coxswain: Lauren Krinker
Tyler Veth
Ryan Hanavan
Jonathan Zagroba
Max Deem
Robert Reed
Alex Vogt
Matthew Coughlin
Walter Sandmeyer



More Headlines