Men's Rowing Concludes Season at IRA National Championships

June 2, 2012

Official Results | @GW_MensRowing

PENNSAUKEN, N.J. - The George Washington men's rowing team concluded its 2011-12 season on Sunday afternoon at the IRA National Championships on the Cooper River. The Colonials raced two boats in the Third Level Finals.

River conditions featured a strong tail wind.

The Varsity 8 finished in fourth place in a narrow finish that saw them just five seconds behind first-place Northeastern. The Colonials finished the 2,000 meter course in 5:38.307, less than a second behind third-place Dartmouth (5:38.156). Northeastern (5:32.953) finished in first place, five seconds ahead of GW.

"It was a really strong race for the Varsity 8," said Head Coach Mark Davis. "They were a little disappointed but we were only .15 seconds behind Dartmouth and five seconds behind Northeastern, the winning crew. When we raced them (Northeastern) at the end of March they beat us by 16 seconds, so there has been improvement."

The Freshman 8 took sixth place in its final, finishing in 6:07.48. "The Freshman had a pretty solid race," said Coach Davis. "They were in fourth at the 1,000 meter mark but slipped back and finished sixth. I thought it was their best race of the weekend, which is great for them. It gives them something to build on going forward."

The Colonials will lose just two members of their Varsity crew to graduation in senior Taylor Lindman and coxswain Kathryn Suarez-Quijano.

"This season we got a lot faster as we went forward, so that bodes well for the future of the program," said Coach Davis. "It gets the guys motivated to continue working hard over the summer. Our performance this weekend gives us something to shoot for when we come back next year."



Varsity 8
Bow: James Kelly
2: Eric Herrera
3: Anthony Paladino
4: Sam Goldberg
5: Colin York
6: Kasey Colander
7: James Stafford
Stroke: Trofym Anderson
Coxswain: Kathryn Suarez-Quijano

Freshman 8
Bow: Kyle Miller
2: Tyler Veth
3: Max Deem
4: Roby Granger
5: Alex Vogt
6: Robert Reed
7: Walter Sandmeyer
Stroke: Matthew Coughlin
Coxswain: Lauren Krinker

More Headlines