2013 GW Rowing Invitational Launches This Friday and Saturday

April 8, 2013

Schedule | Course Map | Live Results
@GW_MensRowing | @GW_WomensRowing
RaiseHigh.TV: Friday | Saturday

WASHINGTON - The George Washington Rowing Invitational, the largest collegiate rowing competition in the Washington metropolitan area, celebrates its 25th anniversary on Friday, April 12 and Saturday, April 13 on the Potomac River race course.

GW's rowing programs will host the event, which began in 1988, and welcome boats from Georgetown, Navy, Saint Joseph's, M.I.T., Gonzaga, Holy Cross, Virginia and the Florida Institute of Technology.

Racing commences on Friday from 1-4 p.m., and resumes with two Saturday sessions from 8-11 a.m. and 1-4 p.m., followed by an awards ceremony.

The 2,000-meter, buoyed course begins near the Spout Run area of the Potomac River with the finish line at Washington Harbour (3050 K Street, NW) in Georgetown.

GW Rowing is headquartered at Thompson Boat Center (2900 Virginia Avenue, NW), a short distance from Washington Harbour near the intersection of Rock Creek Parkway and Virginia Avenue, NW. Both sites are easily accessible via Metro from the Foggy Bottom-GWU Station on the Orange and Blue lines.

GW Rowing and GWsports.com are partnering with USRowing for the third consecutive year in providing multiple camera angles and audio commentary for enhanced full-race coverage at the venue and via live video streaming on RaiseHigh.tv, the subscription-based multimedia video platform for GWsports.com. For questions regarding RaiseHigh.tv click here.



Along with the live online video streaming, fans attending the event at Washington Harbour in Georgetown will be able to watch and listen to audio commentary for all races in their entirety on a large video screen located along the riverwalk. Fans can also follow @GW_MensRowing and @GW_WomensRowing on Twitter for event coverage links, updates, results and standings.

An alumni luncheon will take place on Saturday from 11:30 a.m.-3:00 p.m. at the House of Sweden, located on the riverwalk along Washington Harbour next to Thompson Boat Center. For more information on the event, click here.

Men's squads from George Washington, Georgetown, Navy, Holy Cross, Virginia and Florida Institute of Technology will compete for the Oliver T. Carr Bowl, while women's teams from George Washington, Georgetown, Navy, Saint Joseph's, M.I.T. and Gonzaga will compete for the Howard W. Wilkins Bowl. The team with the highest overall point total will receive the Gilbert H. Hood, Jr. Trophy.

The GW women's team won the Wilkins Bowl for the second time in program history at last year's installment while the GW men's team finished in fourth place in the Oliver T. Carr Bowl standings.

Varsity 8
Bow- Trofym Anderson
2- Jordan Tewksbury-Volpe
3- Scott Yanoff
4- Pat Lacey
5- Sam Goldberg
6- Anthony Paladino
7- Kasey Colander
Stroke- James Stafford
Coxswain- Lauren Krinker

JV 8
Bow- Matt Grieshaber
2- Daniel Soyak
3- Robert Reed
4- Eric Herrera
5- Sean Fago
6- Adam Bair
7- Peter Joyce
Stroke- Matthew Coughlin
Coxswain- William Parsons

Freshmen 8
Bow- Jeremy Wallis
2- Robert Feeney
3- Matt Palmer
4- Keenan Freyberg
5- Duncan Campbell
6- Taylor Evans
7- Dan Henry
Stroke- Carter Law
Coxswain- Connor Barley

Varsity 8
Coxswain: Hayley Dannehower
8: Sarah Pickus
7: Amanda Young
6: Bethany Grim
5: Megan Culberson
4: Anna Kaminski
3: Lauren Tharp
2: Maley Hunt
1: Christine Popp

JV 8
Coxswain: Gaby Uzdin
8: Annie Morse
7: Michaelah Townley
6: Natalee Sohn
5: Cara Korte
4: Elyse Pengeroth
3: Paige Norman
2: Hayley Evans
1: Julia Randle

Varsity 4
Coxswain: Sam Bachert
4: Emily Wilson
3: Brittany Riley
2: Brittany Ferlauto
1: Helen Watson

Coxswain: Jen Nichols
8: Mikaela Duckworth
7: Gephen Sadove
6: Claire Ashcraft
5: Seneth Waterman
4: Kendra Speak
3: Emily Horgan
2: Rebecca Jacobs
1: Nicola Licata

More Headlines