GW Men's Tennis Picked to Repeat as A-10 Champions in 2012

Reigning A-10 Coach of the Year Greg Munoz and the GW men's tennis team are the favorites to repeat as conference champions in 2012.

Jan. 13, 2012

Full Atlantic 10 Release

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - The George Washington men's tennis team has been selected to repeat as Atlantic 10 Conference men's tennis champions in 2012, according to a vote of the league's head coaches.

The Colonials, who captured the program's second A-10 title in 2011 and its first since 1979, welcomes back three of its league-best six All-Conference picks from last year, including senior Ugur Atalay, junior Alexander van Gils and sophomore Viktor Svensson.

Atalay, a First Team All-Atlantic 10 honoree in 2011, posted a 6-12 record at No. 1 singles in spring dual action and registered an 11-9 record at No. 1 doubles with teammate Erik Hannah. Van Gils, a second-team selection, went 11-9 in singles action during the 2011 campaign, while Svensson, also a second-team recipient, posted a 15-3 record at No. 6 singles that included a streak of nine consecutive victories. Reigning A-10 Coach of the Year Greg Munoz will also rely upon the services of returning letterwinners Ulrik Thomsen and Richard Blumenfeld, as well as heralded newcomer Francisco Dias.

Dias, who entered his rookie campaign with an ATP world ranking of No. 954, is currently ranked 12th in singles and seventh in doubles, along with Atalay, in the Jan. 12 ITA Atlantic Region rankings.



GW has been the A-10 Championship's No. 1 seed for four straight seasons and last May competed in its first-ever NCAA Tournament.

The 2012 Atlantic 10 Conference Men's Tennis Championship, a single-elimination, 12-team event, will be held April 13-15 at the Lindner Family Tennis Center in Mason, Ohio. The Center is home to the USTA's Western & Southern Financial Open, the largest professional summer tennis tournament in the nation outside of the US Open. The grounds are located approximately 20 miles north of Cincinnati and boast 16 hard surface, outdoor courts, including four permanent stadiums: Center Court (capacity: 11,435) and Grandstand Court (capacity: 5,000), along with the brand new Court #3 (capacity: 4,000), and Court #4 (capacity: 2,500).

(2011 A-10 Championship finish in parentheses)
1. George Washington (1st)
2. Temple (3rd)
3. Xavier (2nd)
4. Duquesne (4th)
5. Charlotte (5th)
6. Richmond (7th)
7. St. Bonaventure (6th)
8. Fordham (T-11th)
9. Dayton (T-9th)
10. Saint Joseph's (8th)
11. Saint Louis (T-9th)
12. La Salle (T-11th)

More Headlines