Holland, Saar Graybeal to be Honored as 2014 Atlantic 10 Legends

Jan. 23, 2014

2014 Atlantic 10 Legends (PDF)

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - GW basketball alumni Sonni Holland ('93) and Darlene Saar Graybeal ('95) will be honored as Atlantic 10 Legends at the league's respective Men's and Women's Basketball Championships this March, the league announced on Thursday.

Holland and Saar Graybeal are among a 2014 class that includes 26 former men's and women's basketball student-athletes and coaches who made an immeasurable impact on each A-10 institution and its basketball program.

"It is a pleasure and honor to welcome and congratulate the 2014 Atlantic 10 Conference Legends," stated Commissioner Bernadette V. McGlade. "They have distinguished themselves as leaders who have contributed greatly to their University and the A-10 in building the foundation of a great basketball tradition. It is my wish that each of them enjoy this award, as it is an honor well-deserved."

A scholastic star at Neptune High School in New Jersey, Sonni Holland helped lead the basketball renaissance at GW in the early 1990s. After earning Atlantic 10 All-Freshman Team honors in 1990, Holland broke out as a sophomore during the 1990-91 season. He was named Second Team All-Atlantic 10 and averaged 20.3 points in three A-10 Championship games to lead GW to its first-ever league title game and earn All-Tournament Team honors. He averaged a career-best 16.0 points to earn Third Team All-Atlantic 10 honors in 1992, then as team co-captain in 1993, Holland teamed with freshman sensation and late Colonials great Yinka Dare to guide GW to its magical run to the NCAA Sweet 16. Holland still ranks 12th all-time at GW with 1,467 career points and was inducted into the GW Athletic Hall of Fame in 2003.

Darlene Saar Graybeal led GW to two Atlantic 10 tournament championships (1992, 1995), two A-10 regular-season titles (1994, 1995) and three NCAA Tournament berths, including the 1995 Sweet 16, and she earned a spot on three Atlantic 10 All-Championship teams. A three-time Atlantic 10 All-Conference First Team selection, Saar Graybeal was the 1992 A-10 Rookie of the Year and earned All-America Honorable Mention in 1993 and 1995. She excelled in the classroom as well, garnering recognition on the A-10 Academic All-Conference Team three times and being named the 1995 A-10 Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Regional NCAA Woman of the Year. A member of the GW Athletic Hall of Fame, Saar Graybeal is GW's all-time leading rebounder with 1,139 - which ranks seventh in A-10 Conference history - and she ranks second at GW in scoring (1,809 points) and seventh in scoring average (14.3 ppg) and steals (244).

The Men's Basketball Legends will be honored on March 15 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, N.Y. prior to the 2014 Men's Basketball Championship semifinals. The group will be saluted during a celebration awards brunch in the 40/40 Club, beginning at 10:30 a.m. prior to the A-10 men's semifinal games.

The Women's Basketball Legends will be recognized with a brunch on Friday, March 7 prior to the A-10 Championship semifinals. The event will take place at the Richmond Marriot beginning at 10:00 a.m.

A limited number of brunch tickets are available to the general public. For more information please contact the Atlantic 10 Conference at 757-706-3041. Fans interested in GW section tickets for the 2014 A-10 Championships can call the Charles E. Smith Center Box Office at 202-99-GWTIX or email tickets@gwu.edu.



More Headlines