Beck Named to Naismith Trophy Preseason Watch List

Dec. 18, 2007

ATLANTA, GA - George Washington senior point guard Kimberly Beck was named one of 50 preseason candidates for the 2007-08 Women's Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T as announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club Tuesday.

Through 10 games of the 2007-08 season, Beck is averaging 12.0 points and 6.2 assists, which ranks second in the Atlantic 10. Also a preseason Wooden Award candidate, Beck enters Tuesday's game against Loyola Marymount seven assists shy of breaking Kathy Marshall's 22-year-old record of 580 career assists. Beck was tabbed Atlantic 10 Player of the Week on Nov. 26, following her MVP performance at the GW Thanksgiving Classic. She was also named to the All-Tournament Team at the UNO Lady Privateer Four Points by Sheraton Invitational on Dec. 1.

Beck became the seventh player in GW program history to earn All-America honors after receiving honorable mention All-America recognition from the Associated Press last season. The two-time first team All-Atlantic 10 selection also led the conference in assists (5.3 apg) for the third straight season in 2006-07 and is looking to become just the second player, along with Penn State's Suzie McConnell, to pace the league in assists for four consecutive seasons.

Beck was one of three Atlantic 10 players named to the preseason Naismith Trophy list along with Xavier's Amber Harris and La Salle's Carlene Hightower.

The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's players of the year. The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its preseason criteria on player performances from last season and expectations for the 2007-08 campaign. There are 27 seniors, 18 juniors and five sophomores on the list, which does not include incoming freshmen, who will be considered in the first ballot in January, 2008.

In January, the Naismith Trophy voting academy, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, will narrow its preseason list to the top 30 players in the nation. Those players will be eligible for the final ballot in March. In April, the Naismith Trophy winner will be recognized at the NCAA Women's Final Four in Tampa, Fla.



The Atlanta Tipoff Club, an Atlanta Sports Council property, is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club has presented the Naismith Trophy since UCLA's Lew Alcindor first won the award in 1969. Old Dominion's Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women's Naismith Trophy in 1983.

The Naismith Award has become an emblem of excellence for the game, recognizing the Men's and Women's College Basketball Player of the Year, Men's and Women's College Basketball Coach of the Year, as well as awards for outstanding achievement in high school basketball, officiating, and overall contribution to the game.

More Headlines