GW Gymnastics Announces 2014 Award Winners

Kayla Carto won the Attitude is Everything Award at the GW Gymnastics banquet this weekend.

May 5, 2014


WASHINGTON - The George Washington gymnastics team honored nine student-athletes with awards at its annual end-of-season banquet this past weekend.

Graduate student Kayla Carto was bestowed the top honor, the Lindsey Ferris Attitude is Everything Award. The award is presented annually to the GW gymnast who best exemplifies the team spirit and leadership qualities of the late gymnastics alumna. Carto will be formally recognized at next season's Lindsey Ferris Invitational.

Carto, who competed at the NCAA Athens Regional this season as an individual performer, was also honored with the Top Performer award for the all-around and the Starter Award for the floor exercise.

Freshman Chelsea Raineri, named the East Atlantic Gymnastics League (EAGL) Rookie of the Year and the co-recipient of the Female Rookie of the Year Award at last week's Georgey Awards, took home the Top Performer Award for vault in addition to being named the team's Outstanding Rookie.

Junior Elena Corcoran took home the Most Consistent "Stoicovy" Award after performing on vault, balance beam and floor exercise in all 12 meets this season. The award was renamed in honor of alumna Stephanie Stoicovy '13 at last year's banquet.

Senior Brittany Doran earned the Coaches Award and sophomore Taylor Redmond was honored with the Most Improved Award.

2014 GW Gymnastics Award Winners
Lindsey Ferris Award: Kayla Carto
Coaches Award: Brittany Doran

Top Performer, All-Around: Kayla Carto
Top Performer, Vault: Chelsea Raineri
Top Performer, Uneven Bars: Kiera Kenney
Top Performer, Balance Beam: Betsy Zander
Top Performer, Floor Exercise: Chelsea Raineri

Most Consistent "Stoicovy" Award: Elena Corcoran
Outstanding Rookie Award: Chelsea Raineri
Most Improved Award: Taylor Redmond
Colonial Heart Award: Betsy Zander

Starter Award, Vault: Taylor Henderson
Starter Award, Floor Exercise: Kayla Carto
Starter Award, Balance Beam: Elena Corcoran
Starter Award, Uneven Bars: Taylor Henderson

"Own It" Award: Kiera Kenney
Clutch Performer Award: Taylor Henderson
Entertainer of the Year: Chelsea Raineri
Academic Award: Brenna Marcoux



More Headlines