Gymnastics Reveals 2017 Award Winners

May 8, 2017

WASHINGTON - The George Washington gymnastics team put an exclamation point on a championship 2017 season by holding its annual end-of-season banquet last week.

The Colonials celebrated a dominant 2017 season that saw the program capture its second East Atlantic Gymnastics League (EAGL) Championship in the last three seasons and set a new postseason scoring record at the NCAA Morgantown Regional, the team's third consecutive Regionals appearance.

The Colonials also boasted its first-ever NCAA Regional Champion in Chelsea Raineri (Co-Champion, Vault), the first time multiple student-athletes have qualified for the NCAA Championship (Raineri, Cami Drouin-Allaire) and the program's first-ever two-time qualifier (Drouin-Allaire).

Junior Sara Mermelstein took home the top honor of the evening, the Lindsey Ferris Award. The recognition is annually presented to the GW gymnast who best exemplifies the team spirit and leadership qualities of the late gymnastics alumna. Mermelstein will be formally recognized at next season's Lindsey Ferris Invitational.

Mermelstein was also honored with the Starter Award for Floor Exercise in addition to being named a co-winner of the Most Consistent "Stoicovy" Award, along with classmate Drouin-Allaire.

The full list of award winners is below.

2017 GW Gymnastics Award Winners
Lindsey Ferris Award: Sara Mermelstein
Coaches Award: Alex Zois
Top Performer, All-Around: Jillian Winstanley (39.325)
Top Performer, Vault: Cami Drouin-Allaire (9.890)
Top Performer, Uneven Bars: Jillian Winstanley (9.855)
Top Performer, Balance Beam: Jillian Winstanley (9.865)
Top Performer, Floor Exercise: Cami Drouin-Allaire (9.860)

Most Consistent "Stoicovy" Award: Cami Drouin-Allaire & Sara Mermelstein
Outstanding Rookie Performer: Jenna Horner
Most Improved Award: Brooke Bray
Mary Jo Warner Colonial Heart Award: Kaitlin Cowles and Kaila Solomon

Starter Award, Vault: Alex DeMoura
Starter Award, Uneven Bars: Alex Zois
Starter Award, Balance Beam: Cami Drouin-Allaire
Starter Award, Floor Exercise: Sara Mermelstein
"Own It" Award: Alex DeMoura
"Clutch" Performer: Liz Pfeiler
Entertainer of the Year: Chelsea Raineri
Karen Ercole Academic Award: Jillian Winstanley (3.88)



More Headlines