GW Lacrosse Heads to Atlantic 10 Championship This Weekend

The George Washington lacrosse team will compete in the Atlantic 10 Championship for the first time since the 2009 season.

April 26, 2012

2012 Championship Bracket | A-10 Championship Central

WASHINGTON – The George Washington women’s lacrosse team visits Richmond, Va., this weekend for the 14th annual Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship, to be held from April 27-29 at the University of Richmond's Robins Stadium.

The A-10 Championship is a single-elimination, four-team event, with the first-round winners advancing to the championship game. The winner of the Championship will receive the league’s automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament.

The Colonials, who have made appearances in the A-10 Championship in 2005, 2007 and 2009, enter the 2012 competition as the No. 4 seed with a 4-3 conference record this season.  GW will face top-seeded and two-time defending conference champion Massachusetts this Friday at 3:30 p.m. with hopes of advancing to Sunday's title game, which will be broadcast live on CBS Sports Network at 1:00 p.m.

UMass, which is 16-1 overall and 7-0 against A-10 opponents, is followed in the A-10 standings by second-seeded Duquesne (12-5, 5-2 A-10) and third-seeded Richmond (9-7, 5-2 A-10).  The Dukes and Spiders play in Friday's first semifinal at 1:00 p.m.

GW enjoyed a dominant 6-1 record at the Lacrosse Field on the Mount Vernon Campus this year with its lone blemish coming via a 23-10 loss at the hands of Friday’s foe - UMass - on April 1.

The Colonials finished this season with momentum with a 17-11 victory over St. Bonaventure, a victory which gave GW double-digit wins for the first time since 2007 when the team went 11-7 and advanced to the A-10 title match.



Reigning A-10 Player of the Week Sarah Philips leads the Colonials as the program’s all-time leader in points and this spring's team points leader with 79 (40g/39a), which ranks second in the A-10 and fifth in NCAA Division I.  Phillips also ranks second in the league and 10th in the country with 39 assists.  Phillips is joined by senior Megan Seidman, who leads the team with 42 goals this spring, to form GW's top attacking duo, while seniors Hilary Quinn and Casey Disharoon anchor the defense and junior Jess Hicks boasts an 8-5 record in goal.

GW is 1-3 in its three previous A-10 Championship appearances, its lone victory coming via a 15-9 triumph over St. Bonaventure as the No. 2 seed in 2007.  In their most recent appearance in 2009, the fourth-seeded Colonials dropped a 12-9 decision to top-seeded and eventual champion UMass.

Previous Atlantic 10 Women’s Lacrosse Champions
2011 Massachusetts
2010 Massachusetts
2009 Massachusetts
2008 Temple
2007 Richmond
2006 Richmond
2005 Richmond
2004 Temple
2003 Temple
2002 Temple
2001 Temple
2000 Massachusetts
1999 Virginia Tech

More Headlines