GW Lacrosse's Hicks to Compete in North-South Senior All-Star Game

Goalkeeper Jess Hicks was selected to compete in the IWLCA/Under Armour North-South Senior All-Star Game.

May 21, 2013

2013 IWLCA/Under Armour North-South All-Star Rosters

WASHINGTON – George Washington lacrosse senior Jess Hicks was selected to participate in the 2013 Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA)/Under Armour North-South Senior All-Star Game, an annual event which showcases the nation’s top seniors.

The game will be held at Cabrini College in Radnor, Pa., on Sunday, May 26, at 11:30 a.m. Hicks is one of 123 senior student-athletes in Divisions I, II and III from across the country selected to compete in the event, which is part of the IWLCA Champions’ Cup. She joins Hilary Quinn (’12), Megan Seidman (’12), Kelsey Honeyford (’10), Alaska Burr (’09), Caitlin Garman (’08) and Molly Gannon (’07) who all competed on the South Squad during their respective seasons.

“It is great for Jess to be recognized as a senior all-star as she had an outstanding career at GW,” sixth-year Head Coach Tara Hannaford said. “She was the backbone of our defense and was instrumental in our team returning to the A-10 Championship.”



The Atlantic 10 All-Conference Second Team goalkeeper, Hicks closed her four-year career in third place on GW’s all-time saves list with 250. The league’s Defensive Player of the Week on March 5, she set aside six or more shots in 14 contests this season and recorded double-digit saves three times, including a season-high 12 stops in the Colonials' regular-season finale and A-10 Championship bid-clinching win over Saint Joseph’s.

Hicks was named team MVP at the second annual Georgey Awards earlier this month. She graduated on Sunday with a degree in business administration with a concentration in sport, event and hospitality management.

One of two goalkeepers selected to the North Squad, the Brandywine, Md., native is joined by student-athletes from Albany, Binghamton, Boston University, Canisius, Columbia, Fairfield, Loyola (Md.), fellow A-10 member Massachusetts, Monmouth, Notre Dame, Penn State, Princeton, Stony Brook and Towson. The South Squad consists of players from Detroit Mercy, Duke, Georgetown, Holy Cross, Jacksonville, James Madison, La Salle, Lehigh, Louisville, Navy, Old Dominion, Penn, Richmond, Rutgers, Temple, UMBC and Virginia. 

More Headlines