2012 GW Rowing Invitational Launches This Friday and Saturday

April 4, 2012

Day 1 Results | 2012 GW Invitational Schedule of Races Get Acrobat Reader | Course Map and Layout | Previews on MyFoxDC.com Morning Show with Holly Morris
Live Video on GW All-Access: Friday | Saturday

WASHINGTON - The George Washington Rowing Invitational, the largest collegiate rowing competition in the Washington metropolitan area, will take place this Friday, April 6 and Saturday, April 7 on the Potomac River race course. GW's rowing programs will host the event, which began in 1988, and welcome boats from UC San Diego, Cornell, Duquesne, Georgetown, Holy Cross, MIT, Navy and Saint Joseph's this weekend.

Racing commences on Friday from 1-4 p.m. and resumes with two Saturday sessions from 8-11 a.m. and 1-4 p.m., followed by an awards ceremony. Marquee races are scheduled for Saturday afternoon between 2-4 p.m.

The 2,000-meter, buoyed course begins near the Spout Run area of the Potomac River with the finish line at Washington Harbour (3050 K Street, NW) in Georgetown. GW Rowing is headquartered at Thompson Boat Center (2900 Virginia Avenue, NW) a short distance from Washington Harbour near the intersection of Rock Creek Parkway and Virginia Avenue, NW. Both sites are easily accessible via Metro from the Foggy Bottom-GWU Station on the Orange and Blue lines.

Admission is free, and spectator viewing areas are located along the promenade at Washington Harbour at 3050 K Street, NW. Fans will be able to enjoy all races in their entirety on television monitors near the finish line and on the promenade.

GW Rowing and GWsports.com are partnering with USRowing for the second consecutive year in providing multiple camera angles and audio commentary for enhanced full-race coverage at the venue and via live video streaming on GW All-Access, the subscription-based multimedia video platform for GWsports.com. Subscriptions are $9.95 per month and $79.95 annually. For questions regarding GW All-Access, visit http://cbssportscs.custhelp.com/.

Men's squads from George Washington, UC San Diego, Cornell, Georgetown, Holy Cross and the U.S. Naval Academy will compete for the Oliver T. Carr Bowl, while women's teams from George Washington, Duquesne, Georgetown, MIT, Navy and Saint Joseph's will compete for the Howard W. Wilkins Bowl. The team with the highest overall point total will receive the Gilbert H. Hood, Jr. Trophy.



More Headlines