The George Washington University: Women's Soccer

GW Women's Soccer Releases 2014 Matches

<blank>

 
 

July 15, 2014

2014 Women's Soccer Schedule

WASHINGTON - The George Washington women's soccer team will play nine games at home and nine on the road as part of an 18-match schedule for the 2014 season, third-year Head Coach Sarah Barnes announced on Wednesday.

On the heels of reaching the Atlantic 10 Championship for the first time in 11 seasons, Coach Barnes has put together a demanding schedule that features a top-20 opponent and three NCAA Championship qualifiers to challenge the squad and prepare for league play.

"We are looking forward to another strong schedule this season that includes non-conference match-ups that will provide great competition," said Coach Barnes. "This is a great opportunity for us to continue to grow and develop, and our schedule offers some exciting challenges for 2014."

The Colonials welcome District foe American to the GW Soccer Field on the Mount Vernon Campus for a 5 p.m. exhibition match on Wednesday, Aug. 13 before traveling to face Delaware on Saturday, Aug. 16 at 7 p.m. for its final tune up before the season begins.

GW officially kicks off 2014 action at home on Friday, Aug. 22 when Mount St. Mary's comes to Washington for a 5 p.m. match. The Buff and Blue then remain home for a 12 p.m. game against Old Dominion on Sunday, Aug. 24 before hitting the road for Baltimore, Maryland on Friday, Aug. 29 to take on Loyola at 7 p.m.


 

 

The Colonials return home to host William & Mary at 5 p.m. on Sunday, Aug. 31, then travel to Lynchburg, Virginia for a 4 p.m. contest against Big South Champion and NCAA Championship qualifier Liberty on Sunday, Sept. 7. GW welcomes East Tennessee State on Friday, Sept. 12 at 3 p.m. for the first-ever matchup between the two programs before wrapping non-conference play with a three-game road swing. The Colonials take the short trip across the District on Sunday, Sept. 14 for a 4 p.m. game against city rival Georgetown, which reached the second round of the 2013 NCAA tournament and finished the season ranked No. 20 in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Top-25 Poll. GW travels to Drexel for a 6 p.m. match Friday, Sept. 19 and then Delaware State for a 1 p.m. match on Sunday, Sept. 21. GW wraps non-conference action when George Mason comes to the GW Soccer Field on Saturday, Sept. 27 at 3 p.m.

GW opens Atlantic 10 play when it heads to 2013 A-10 Champion and NCAA Championship qualifier La Salle on Friday, Oct. 3 at 7 p.m. before continuing to Fordham for a 4 p.m. game on Sunday, Oct. 5.

"The A-10 is always a competitive and strong conference, but we feel that our non-conference slate will prepare us," Coach Barnes said. "We will face both Dayton and La Salle this season, both of which are perennially strong programs that competed for the conference title in 2013."

The Colonials host three straight conference foes, beginning with Massachusetts on Saturday, Oct. 11 at 1 p.m. A-10 newcomer Davidson makes its first trip to GW as a league opponent on Friday, Oct. 17 at 3:30 p.m., and the Buff and Blue wrap the homestand with a 3:30 p.m. Senior Day match against Richmond on Sunday, Oct. 19. Alex Brothers, Elizabeth Casey, Madison Davis, Taylor Katz, MacKenzie McIndoe, Sydney Morris and Meg Murphy will all be honored prior to kickoff against the Spiders.

GW will face off with VCU at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 25 in Richmond, Virginia before it returns to host Dayton on Friday, Oct. 31 at 3 p.m. for its home finale. The Colonials wrap the regular season on Sunday, Nov. 2 with a 1 p.m. contest at Saint Louis.

The 2014 Atlantic 10 Championship will be held from Thursday, Nov. 6 - Sunday, Nov. 9 at Dayton's Baujan Field in Dayton, Ohio.

Women's Soccer Home

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article

The George Washington University Nike Atlantic 10 NCAA NCAA