GW Softball Picked Third in Atlantic 10 Preseason Poll

The GW softball team advanced to the A-10 title game in 2012.

Jan. 23, 2013

2013 Schedule | @GW_Softball

NEWPORT NEWS, Va. - After a historic 2012 season, the George Washington softball team was predicted to finish third in the Atlantic 10 preseason poll according to a vote of the league's 12 head coaches.

Reigning A-10 champion Massachusetts was the favorite to repeat as conference champion, while Fordham was picked second. GW, which will be led by third-year head coach Stacey Schramm, earned the third spot, followed by Saint Joseph's (4th), Temple (5th) and Charlotte (6th). Atlantic 10 newcomer Butler (7th), Saint Louis (8th), Dayton (9th), St. Bonaventure (10th), Rhode Island (11th) and La Salle (12th) round out the 12-team poll.

The six-team Atlantic 10 Championship will take place May 8-11 at the UMass Softball Complex in Amherst, Mass.

GW enjoyed its most successful campaign in program history in 2012, producing a nine-win improvement from the previous season for a school-record 25 victories. The Colonials won 13 of their last 18 regular-season games to earn the No. 4 seed in the Atlantic 10 Championship, where they knocked off defending champion Fordham before falling to UMass in the title game.

GW returns 13 letterwinners from last season's squad, including A-10 All-Rookie selection and team MVP Victoria Valos, as well as senior Autumn Taylor, who is one hit shy of becoming just the seventh Colonial ever with 100 career hits.

The Colonials open their season on Friday, Feb. 8, against Seton Hall at the Hampton Inn Invitational in Buies Creek, N.C.

2013 A-10 Softball Predicted Order of Finish (2012 Record)
1. Massachusetts (38-13/19-0 A-10)
2. Fordham (32-26/14-6 A-10)
3. George Washington (25-30/11-9 A-10)
4. Saint Joseph's (22-29-1/9-10-1 A-10)
5. Temple (27-22/12-6 A-10)
6. Charlotte (29-26/10-10 A-10)
7. Butler (25-32/13-11 Horizon)
8. Saint Louis (23-33/9-11 A-10)
9. Dayton (22-29/9-10 A-10)
10. St. Bonaventure (17-27/6-14 A-10)
11. Rhode Island (21-32-1/5-14-1 A-10)
12. La Salle (9-40/3-17 A-10)



More Headlines