Squash Completes Successful First Day at CSA Individual Nationals

March 2, 2018

WASHINGTON – The George Washington squash teams completed a successful first day of hosting the College Squash Association (CSA) Individual Nationals on Friday. Nine Colonials, a record six from the men’s team and a trio from the women’s squad, took part in the first day of competition.

Freshman Mohammad Alterki advances in the Molloy North bracket after victories over Mahmoud Yousry of Bates and St. Lawrence’s Lenard Puski. Senior co-captain Oisin Logan also continues tournament play in his respective bracket, Molloy South, tomorrow after defeating James Watson from Penn and John Fitzgerald from Williams.

In the A-Divison, Moudy Abdel-Maksoud put up a fight against No. 1 seed Kush Kumar from Trinity, but ultimately fell 12-10, 11-3, 11-4. Abdel-Maksoud went on to drop his match in the consolation bracket, but finishes the season as a CSA Second-Team All-American.

On the women’s side, freshman Zoe Foo Yuk Han will continue on for the Colonials in the Holleran East bracket with wins over Amherst’s Haley McAtee and Stanford’s Christina Huchro. Senior co-captain Abby Shonrock and sophomore Engy Elmandouh will advance in the Holleran North and Holleran West consolation brackets, respectively, after splitting the day of competition.

Hannah Blatt (Drexel) def. Abby Shonrock 11-7, 11-9, 11-4
Consolation: Abby Shonrock def. Dianne Tyson (UVA) 5-11, 11-7, 11-5, 11-5

Zoe Foo Yuk Han def. Haley McAtee (Amherst) 11-3, 11-3, 11-5
Zoe Foo Yuk Han def. Christina Huchro (Stanford) 11-4, 12-10, 14-12

Kira Keating (Princeton) def. Engy Elmandouh 11-9, 11-8, 5-11, 12-10
Consolation: Engy Elmandouh def. Alex Matamoros (St. Lawrence) 11-4, 11-1, 11-4

Kush Kumar (Trinity) def. Moudy Abdel-Maksoud 12-10, 11-3, 11-4
Consolation: Spencer Lovejoy (Yale) def. Moudy Abdel-Maksoud 11-7, 11-9, 11-4

Mohammad Alterki def. Mahmoud Yousry (Bates) 11-2, 7-11, 11-5, 11-8
Mohammad Alterki def. Lenard Puski (St. Lawrence) 11-6, 8-11, 11-5, 11-1

Inaki de Larrauri Coral def. Frank Goossens (Dickinson) 11-7, 11-9, 11-6
Ziad Sakr (Trinity) def. Inaki de Larrauri Coral 11-8, 13-11, 11-4
Oisin Logan def. James Watson (Penn) 11-8, 11-8, 11-4
Oisin Logan def. John Fitzgerald (Williams) 11-9, 11-3, 13-11

Salim Khan def. Aryaman Adik (Trinity) 11-7, 11-2, 13-11
Belal Nawar (St. Lawrence) def. Salim Khan 11-9, 11-8, 7-11, 11-8
Jamie Oakley def. Nathaniel Fry (Drexel) 9-11, 11-9, 11-8, 11-9
Carson Spahr def. Jamie Oakley 11-6, 11-5, 11-6




More Headlines