GW Swimming Hosts Georgetown for Senior Day Meet

Jake Mortensen is one of 10 seniors to be honored prior to Saturday's meet.

Jan. 16, 2014

WASHINGTON – The George Washington men’s and women’s swimming teams return to the Charles E. Smith Center Pool to host crosstown rival Georgetown for their home finale and Senior Day meet on Saturday at 1 p.m.

Prior to the meet, Jake Mortensen, Spencer Neff, Taylor Cole, Melissa Fernandez, Rachael Johnston, Lindsay Moore, Caroline Myers, Remy Neville, Sloan Saunders and Sydney Saunders will be honored in a Senior Day ceremony.

Following a week-long training trip in Puerto Rico over winter break, the Colonials opened 2014 action last weekend at the Rhode Island Invitational. The women’s team won the event with a total of 414 points on the strength of five event victories and 36 top-five performances. Senior Caroline Myers, junior Janica Lee and rookie Carly Whitmer each won individual events while the 400-yard medley relay team of senior Lindsay Moore, Lee, junior Morgan Zebley and senior Sydney Saunders also took home top honors.



The men’s side earned second at the two-day event with 351 points, led by first-place finishes from senior Jake Mortensen, junior Goran Koprivnjak and freshman Liam Huffman. Additionally, Koprivnjak, Huffman, junior Adam Rabe and rookie Bogdan Balteanu won the 400-yard freestyle relay. For his efforts over the weekend, Huffman was tabbed the Atlantic 10 Men’s Swimming Rookie of the Week.

Myers currently owns the fastest times in the A-10 in the 500 free (4:54.81) and the 1,650 free (16:47.61) and ranks second in the league in the 1,000 free (10:15.86). Whitmer owns the second-fastest time in the conference in the 200 fly (2:02.49) and freshman Lauren Law is third in the 400 IM (4:24.76). On the men's side, Koprivnjak ranks atop the A-10 in the 200 fly (1:50.76) and Mortensen is third in the 200 back (1:51.06).

Fans that can’t make Saturday’s meet can follow along via the @GWSwimming Twitter handle. Senior Day ceremonies are slated to begin at 12:45 p.m.

More Headlines