GW Men's and Women's Swimming Set for A-10 Championships

The George Washington men's and women's swimming teams head to Buffalo, N.Y., for the 2012 Atlantic 10 Championships from Feb. 21-25.

Feb. 21, 2012

Atlantic 10 Championship Page | Live Video | Schedule of Events

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The George Washington men’s and women’s swimming teams head to Buffalo, N.Y., for the 2012 Atlantic 10 Swimming and Diving Championships from Wednesday, Feb. 22–Saturday, Feb. 25, hosted by St. Bonaventure at the Burt Flickinger Aquatics Center on the campus of Erie Community College.

Fans can follow along with all Atlantic 10 Championship action by visiting the Atlantic 10 Championship Central Page to find information on tickets, directions and a visitor’s guide, as well as links to the schedule of events, live video and live stats.

GW is under the direction of 13th-year head coach and reigning Co-Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year Dan Rhinehart. The men’s squad is coming off a fourth-place finish at the 2011 championship meet, matching its highest finish since the 2004-05 season.

Last year, GW closed out the conference championship meet on a high note when the 400-yard freestyle relay of Phillip Graeter, Marshall Seedorff, Alex Etz and Niccolo Wilson team won the event in 3:02.13.

The Colonials look to earn spots on the podium this year as Garrett Cottingham, Niklas Glenesk, Graeter and Seedorff all hold spots on the conference’s top-times lists. Cottingham owns the fourth-fastest time in the 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:08.27, and Seedorff boasts the fourth-best time in the 50-yard freestyle with a mark of 20.95 seconds.



Glenesk holds the fourth-fastest time in the 200 free (1:41.79) as well as the fifth-best time in the 1,000 free (9:48.06), Graeter owns the top time in the 200-yard backstroke with a mark of 1:51.00.

The women’s squad is coming off an eighth-place finish at the A-10 Championships a year ago, which was headlined by five school records. Then-senior Paola Leor led the Colonials with three record-breaking times in the 200-yard individual medley, the 50 free and the 100-yard butterfly.

In addition to Leor’s individual performances, the 800 free relay squad of Leor, Taylor Cole, Sloan Saunders and Caroline Myers set a new school record of 7:34.01. Myers, who was a rookie in 2011, posted a school-record time of 4:28.85 in the 400 IM.

GW is led this year by Myers and freshman Janica Lee, who earned A-10 Rookie of the Week honors on Oct. 24. Myers boasts an impressive résumé, as she owns the league’s top time in the 1,000 free (10:16.59) and holds the second-best time in the 1,6500 free(17:05.58) and the third-fastest time in the 500 free (4:58.75).

Lee holds the seventh-best time in the 100 breast (1:06.35), the sixth-fastest time in the 200 breast (2:22.90) and the ninth-fastest time in the 200 IM (2:09.04). Freshman Morgan Zebley owns the fastest time in the 100 fly with a mark of 55.41 seconds.

Action inside Flickinger Aquatics Center is set to begin at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday with the trials of the men’s one-meter diving competition, followed by the finals of the men’s and women’s 200-yard medley and 800 free relays at 6:30 p.m. Championships continue on Thursday with time trials at 10:30 a.m., followed by the finals at 6:30 p.m. The same schedule will be followed on Friday and Saturday.

More Headlines