The George Washington University: Women's Tennis

GW Women's Tennis Announces 2014 Spring Slate

GW opens 2014 at Maryland on Saturday, Jan. 25.

 
GW opens 2014 at Maryland on Saturday, Jan. 25.
 

Jan. 14, 2014

2014 Schedule

WASHINGTON – The George Washington women’s tennis team has released its 2014 spring schedule, which is highlighted by a top-40 opponent and NCAA Championship qualifier, Head Coach Greg Munoz announced on Tuesday.

“We have worked really hard this fall and will face some tough competition this spring, particularly in VCU,” Coach Munoz said. “To bring this team to the next level we need to experience that type of play. If we keep pushing our limits and keep improving every day as we are, we can compete with anyone.”

GW opens 2014 action with a four-match road swing, beginning on Saturday, Jan. 25 in nearby College Park, Md., with an 11 a.m. bout at Maryland. The Colonials travel to Annapolis, Md., on Saturday, Feb. 1 for at 11 a.m. contest with Navy before heading to Philadelphia for a pair of matches at Penn on Saturday, Feb. 8 and at Atlantic 10 foe Saint Joseph’s on Sunday, Feb. 9. GW then welcomes Liberty at 5:30 p.m. on Saturday, Feb. 15 for an indoor match at a location to be determined.

The Buff and Blue head to nearby Baltimore, Md., for a 2 p.m. match at UMBC on Saturday, Feb. 16, then travel to New York, N.Y., to face off against back-to-back A-10 opponents in Massachusetts on Saturday, March 1 and Fordham on Sunday, March 2. The Colonials open their home slate at the newly renovated and resurfaced GW Tennis Center on the Mount Vernon Campus against Saint Louis for a 1 p.m. match on Monday, March 10, followed by a 2 p.m. match against Towson on Tuesday, March 11.


 

 

“Our new courts have really livened up the facility and our practices are more intense than ever,” said Munoz. “The GW Tennis Center is a wonderful place to compete and practice and we look forward to hosting some exciting matches this year.”

The squad heads to Richmond, Va., to face defending A-10 Champion and No. 39 VCU on Saturday, March 22 before traveling to Harrisonburg, Va., to face James Madison on Sunday, March 23. The Colonials wrap their four-match swing when they travel to Pittsburgh on Sunday, March 30 for an 11 a.m. match with conference foe Duquesne.

GW returns home to host Xavier on Friday, April 4 at noon, then welcomes A-10 rival Richmond on Sunday, April 6 at 1 p.m. The Colonials remain local for their final two road matches as they face Morgan State in Baltimore, Md., on Saturday, April 12 and District foe Howard on Sunday, April 13. GW hosts A-10 newcomer George Mason for its regular-season finale and Senior Day match on Saturday, April 19, which will recognize seniors Isabella Escobar and Leah Pascarella.

Following a two-year stint at the indoor Boars Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va., the Colonials will compete in the 2014 Atlantic 10 Championship in Mason, Ohio at the Lindner Family Tennis Center from Wednesday, April 23 – Sunday, April 27.

“The team is excited to compete outdoors after spending the past two A-10 Championships at an indoor facility,” Coach Munoz said. “I have experience with the site from the men’s championships and I think this will help us gain a competitive advantage. The conference has a lot of depth and we will fight hard and believe in ourselves to earn a top seed.”

Women's Tennis Home

  Printer-friendly format   Email this article

The George Washington University Nike Atlantic 10 NCAA NCAA