GW Women's Tennis Set for Atlantic 10 Championship

The George Washington women's tennis team is the sixth seed at the Atlantic 10 Championship this year.

April 18, 2012

2012 Women’s Tennis Championship Bracket | A-10 Championship Central | Boar’s Head Sports Club

WASHINGTON – The George Washington women’s tennis team visits Charlottesville, Va., on Thursday for the 29th annual Atlantic 10 Conference Women’s Tennis Championships, held from April 19-22 at the Boar’s Head Sports Club in Charlottesville, Va.

The A-10 Championship is a 14-team event that now features a four-day single-elimination format. The winner of the championship will receive the conference’s automatic bid to compete in the NCAA Tournament.

The Colonials, who finished fourth at last year’s championship after falling to second-seeded Temple in the semifinal round, will be the sixth seed after posting a 3-3 conference record this season. GW will face 11th-seeded Saint Joseph’s on Thursday at 3 p.m. with hopes of taking on the winner of the No. 3 Richmond/No. 14 La Salle match on Friday afternoon.

Massachusetts is the top seed in the championship with 5-1 league record, followed by second-seeded Charlotte, third-seeded Richmond, fourth-seeded Temple and fifth-seeded Xavier.

GW (15-6) split its opening conference matches on Feb. 18-19 with a 4-3 loss to Xavier and a 4-3 win over Duquesne. The Colonials fell to Temple, 7-0, on Feb. 25, but bounced back to defeat Fordham, 5-2, on March 10. The Buff and Blue then dropped a 5-2 decision to Richmond on March 15 before gliding past Saint Joseph’s, 6-1, last weekend in the squad’s season finale.



The Colonials welcomed back five members of the 2011 starting line up, including First Team All-Conference selection senior Jacqueline Corba and Second Team selections sophomores Julia Blakeley and Leah Pascarella. The Colonials were selected to finish third at this season’s championship in a preseason poll voted on by the league’s coaches.

The Boar's Head Sports Club boasts 26 USTA regulation courts, including 10 Outdoor Har-Tru courts that are maintained for seasonal play. Alongside the clay courts, are an additional four Outdoor DecoTurf hard courts for year-round competition. Inside, the Boar's Head features a 12 DecoTurf hard courts complex, which plays to the high standards of the ATP and NCAA and serves as the host site of top tournaments. In January 2006, the Boyd Tinsley Courts at the Boar's Head Sports Club were completed, including a six-court tennis stadium with the capacity to seat more than 1,200 spectators for tournaments and collegiate matches. The Boar's Head Sports Club has been the site of past ITA National Individual Indoor Championships and ITA Men's Mideast Regional Championships. The Boar's Head Inn, owned and operated by the UVa Foundation, is a staple of Tennis Magazine's annual "Top 50 Tennis Resorts" rankings.

Competition begins on Thursday, April 19, at 9 a.m., with the final match of the first round slated to start at 3 p.m. The top two seeds will receive a first-round bye and begin play in the quarterfinals on Friday, April 20, at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m., respectively.  Semifinal action commences on Saturday, April 21, at 10 a.m., while the championship match is set for Sunday, April 22, at 10 a.m.

Previous Atlantic 10 Women’s Tennis Champions
2011 - Richmond
2010 - Richmond
2009 - Richmond
2008 - Temple
2007 - Richmond
2006 - Richmond
2005 - Richmond
2004 - Richmond
2003 - Temple
2002 - Richmond
2001 - Massachusetts
2000 - Virginia Tech
1999 - Virginia Tech
1998 - Virginia Tech
1997 - Virginia Tech
1996 - Virginia Tech
1995 - Temple
1994 - Temple
1993 - George Washington
1992 - George Washington
1991 - Penn State
1990 - Penn State
1989 - Penn State
1987 - Penn State
1986 - Penn State
1985 - Penn State
1984 - George Washington
1983 - Penn State

More Headlines